it is what it is …



I saw Kate Gosselin!

img_8714today was the big day … Kate Gosselin came to town!

here’s the 411:

the service was lovely. First Christian Church outdid themselves. The music was awesome! There was a tremendous amount of energy and excitement leading up to the point in the service when Kate was supposed to speak. And Kate did not disappoint me.

She sucked the energy right out of that church.

Her story is the same story that’s been told over and over on the internet — the standard Kate speech. It’s Kate’s story. And Kate’s book. Did you know Kate wrote a book? Without help? Last time I checked, there are 3 names on the by-line, but what do I know? There were also mentions of Jon’s job losses, standing in line at the Salvation Army, and her sister spending Christmas Eve with Kate, inspiring her to donate money to a needy family. Family and giving back in the same sentence. The PR people have done their homework.

One thing I didn’t realize is Jon & Kate continue to do the show because of the millions of emails they’ve gotten telling Kate if she can parent 8 kids, they can surely handle 2. Moms are her reason.

Kate is skinny, skinny. She was tan, but not orange. Hair was stripey, but I’ve seen it stripier on the show.

She spoke for 25 minutes, and not a minute more… making sure to ask the pastor, “that’s 25 minutes, right? I don’t have a clock” and then she walked off the stage. That was that.

Yawn.

I’m glad I went, if for no other reason than to listen to some great music. Kate was exactly what I thought she’d be. I saw no reason to go to the book signing.

One other thing. Kate granted no interviews to the local media.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suzanne says:

    Woohoo, she didn’t huckster pictures of the kids for 20 bucks cash at this service!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  2. * FCC Member says:

    I just wanted to say that I appreciated your comments. As a church, we’ve worked incredibly hard over the past year to prepare for this day and our CORE series. Our purpose for all of this was to get people in to the church and hopefully grow and lead people closer to Jesus Christ. I just really appreciate how much praise you offered for our music and hard work. The music team in particular spent many hours preparing for this day.

    To be honest, Kate was booked over a year ago, and if you’ve been a fan of the show you’ll probably agree that it’s gotten harder to watch over the past year. I lost interest and stopped watching a long time ago because I couldn’t stand the negativity. My hope is that God used her anyway and that her testimony spoke to some of her fans and ultimately will lead them to a relationship with Christ.

    Again, thank you so much for your comments on our church and please come back and visit anytime.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
    • * it is what it is says:

      FCC member, I think I’ve told everyone in Hardin County what a great job you all did organizing yesterday’s event. Crowd control, traffic, the service itself .. it was outstanding. Your hard work paid off.

      Good luck with the rest of the series — you’ve got some outstanding speakers lined up!

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  3. * Suzanne says:

    I can understand not wanting to wait for the book signing.

    FCC member, as one who has attended services to see particular speakers, it has usually been my experience that the speaker inspires a lot of thought about my faith and what it means to me. I feel bad for your congregation and others that bring in the Gosselins. From all accounts that I’ve heard, they don’t inspire much positive spiritual thought.

    (and as a former fellow poster with you on the DIS, I really appreciate your post on this 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 4 months ago
  4. * Annie says:

    I went to see Kate speak that day, and I thought it was well worth it. Of course, we’ve all heard the story before. But in person it is so powerful. I couldn’t take my eyes are off of her. One thing I do have to mention, I attended the book signing and when she first came in everyone was lined up to see her. She didn’t even look up to acknowledge her fans. But in her defense, she deals with the cameras every day. She doesn’t get a break from the stalking, and getting followed.

    Anyway, the church had a nice service and everything was much better than I had imagined.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago
  5. * Cindy says:

    Wow,as a Christian, I find others of my faith that judge others in an obvious attempy to make themsleves look pious is repugmant. Pray for the Gosselins and leave the gossipy tone out of it please. We all sin. Jesus is the only worthy One, Lets stop throwing stones.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

