it is what it is …



thanksgiving

oh, how I love Thanksgiving. In some ways, I enjoy it more than any other time of the year. The food … SO good. Oh, my goodness. I went to the first of 3 Thanksgiving meals I’ll have this week tonight. A potluck at church. Some of those ladies can COOK, let me tell you. None of this run to the Kroger deli and grab a pie type deal, either. (not that there’s anything wrong with that. I’m the president of that club, LOL) Homemade gravy, rolls, potato casserole .. and desserts. WOW. So yummy.

Other things I love about Thanksgiving? The anticipation of Christmas .. the kids looking through the newspaper ads, making their wish lists for Santa .. that’s one of my favorite things. We always travel, which I don’t love. But the kids always like seeing their extended family, so that’s worth it.

The very best thing about Thanksgiving comes on the day itself. Midway between the parents is a little place called United Dairy Farmers … UDF to those of us from Northern Kentucky/Cincinnati. To the uninitiated, it’s a gas station. But inside, it’s an ice cream parlor.

Best. Milkshakes. Ever.

During the holidays, UDF serves egg nog shakes. The hubster loves UDF egg nog shakes. In the interest of his happiness, we stop and have a milkshake break during our long 90-minute  drive over the river and through the woods from one grandmother’s house to the other. You gotta do what you gotta do, right?!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suzanne says:

    I’m jealous, I want an eggnog shake!

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago
  2. * Anissa says:

    i like the Christmasy look~very cool.

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

