it is what it is …



grrrr …

when I went to college, back in the day, it was all fairly straightforward and simple. My parents paid $500 per semester for my dorm (I told you it was way back in the day!) and what started as $500 per semester for tuition. That number went up some over the years, for various reasons. Anyway, it was not hard. My dad wrote the check, and I delivered it to the Bursar’s office.

Fast forward some years. Oldest son is leaving for college in 2 days. Much time was spent choosing the right school, applying for scholarships, etc. A financial aid package arrives … and much to my surprise and delight, it’s a number we can manage. whew. All is well 🙂

The bill arrives in July and we’re on our way. Or so we think.

DS was awarded a $500 local scholarship. We should have kept our big mouths shut We tell the school, which sends the financial aid office into a tailspin. Because apparently, we’ve already been awarded all the aid allowed? I have no idea. All I know is that the very nice lady who responds to my emails tells me to set up our payment plan based on the billed amount less $250 for the scholarship and she’d take care of it.

Take care of it my ass. @@

I did what she said to do. Total due less $250. No problem.

Except now we’re getting letters and emails from the Business Office, telling us our account is underpaid by $250. I don’t understand, beause I followed the directions of the Financial Aid office when I set up the account payment plan. I email the nice lady in Financial Aid, to see what suggestions she can offer. At this point, it’s a matter of the Business Office, I should email them.

And email them I have …. 3 times in the last 2 days? NO repsonse. NONE. Not helpful at all. Especially for a first time parent. I could have called, I suppose .. but all over their emails it says to email them. riiight. @@

I look over the tuition statement again this morning (2 days before dorm check-in) and discover that the lady in the Financial Aid office has added the $250 as an outside scholarship to his award package. Awesome! Then I look and see that she’s taken $250 away from a different category … so we owe the SAME amount. And she did not think to mention this to me in the 50 emails I’ve sent about this issue? Good LORD.

$250 check has been overnighted to the school. Hopefully that will be the end of it.

Somehow, I doubt it. @@

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Tena says:

    Ack!!!
    I am glad you finally got to the bottom of that mess! I can relate, maybe not for a child, but both Jim and I started Fall semester yesterday, and the one thing you can be sure of, is a run around!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  2. * Anissa says:

    Times are hard and they are trying to prove how hard they work. Look how much time and effort it takes to move your money from one category to another!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago
  3. * Garvel Kindrick says:

    Madge,

    First, let me apologize for the run-around you describe in your blog. I do understand that the way we have to treat outside scholarships per federal law can be confusing to families, but that is no reason why we should not have been able to get you a clear answer upon your first call and without being told to contact someone else. If possible I would encourage you to send me the email string you had on this (garvel_kindrick@georgetowncollege.edu) so that I may be able to work with those in the aid and business office to do our best to prevent this from happening again. Should you have any further questions regarding this or any other part of GC please feel free to contact me. I look forward to continuing to follow your blog.

    I hope Tena and Annisa do understand that we are human and prone to imperfection and error but we are not trying to create more work for anyone, nor prove how hard we work.

    Thank you.
    Garvel Kindrick
    Vice President for Enrollment
    Georgetown College

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 11 months ago


Leave a Reply

