it is what it is …



Jon & Kate Plus 8? I just don’t get it.

I’ve already blogged about Jon & Kate once this month … but, I’m feeling compelled to blog a little more. 🙂

I’ll start out by issuing this disclaimer:
I am not an expert about the show. I only started watching the show recently, after I started noticing several different message boards/blogs with threads about Jon & Kate. There’s not much good on TV this summer, so I figured, what the heck? I’ll see what all the fuss is about.

I’m not sure I get all the J&K love. I’ll admit, those kids are ADORABLE. So. Stinking. Cute. Seriously. But the rest of it? I just don’t get it. Episode after episode of the Gosselins “daily life” … a peek into the window of a family that is very different than the rest of us. Not only do they have 2 sets of multiples, they have free trips to Utah, Walt Disney World, Ellen, and Oprah, shopping sprees at Ikea, matching Gymboree wardrobes, tummy tucks, teeth whitening, personal trainers, Christmas & birthday gifts from strangers and the list goes on and on. And those are only some of the things the viewers see. I have no doubt I’ve missed a donation or twenty two.

Some of the things I’ve read on the internet have painted a pretty ugly picture of Jon & Kate. Pretty damning stuff, if it’s true. For every nasty comment, there’s someone at the ready to defend Kate, Jon, the kids, and their choice to broadcast their life on television. Poor Kate has 8 kids, you know … how does she do it all? She doesn’t, best as I can tell. There are nannies, house cleaners, laundry folders, ironers, etc. Again, that’s just what we see on TV. I have no doubt that Kate has plenty to do – but she doesn’t do it all, like most moms I know. (and some of these moms are raising 5 or 6 kids, without outside help)

Jon & Kate Gosselin have a life I can’t even begin to imagine. They’ve created an empire based around their children. I don’t know .. if I were in the same position, I might do the same thing. I don’t know?  (I won’t ever be in a position to have 2 sets of multiples, though … that ship has sailed 😉 ) From what I understand, Jon & Kate have traveled all over the country, speaking of their experiences raising two sets of multiples. I also understand that in the past, Jon & Kate had told a tale of life in the poorhouse, with all those kids and at the end of the speech, a love offering is collected. An offering collected for a family with a show on national television. WTH? Give me a break. They’re on TV, people!!! Now that Jon & Kate have professional representation, I don’t know whether or not the love offerings take place any more.

I’ll keep watching, because it’s a train wreck. I can’t look away.

And there’s nothing better on TV.

But I just don’t get it.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Bohemianmoon says:

    There is an interesting article on the Gosselins at http://blog.psychic-wisdom.net.

    It is worth a look whether you love or “hate” Jon and Kate Gosselin.

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 3 months ago
  2. * sjbraun says:

    I think we share the same brain … I have thought/blogged many of these same things. But at the same time as I am repulsed by a lot of J/K’s behavior, I do keep watching.
    Susan
    http://www.girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com

    | Reply Posted 9 years ago


Leave a Reply

