it is what it is …



I can say I’ve been to the mountaintop … and Graceland, too.

Well, I can check Memphis off the list of places I’ve been in my life. It was fun, but I’m not so sure I’d go there again, unless we had to for a meeting or something. My husband feels quite differently – he was all sorts of engrossed in the musical history of it all. Going to Sun Studio for him was the highlight of our time there. To stand in the same spot as Elvis and Johnny Cash? Forget it. He can die happy.

We ate a lot … a LOT. My poor stomach didn’t quite know what to thing with all that meat. I’ve learned that I don’t really care for dry rub BBQ. It took 2 different meals for me to make that distinction. I also enjoyed quite possibly the best fried chicken I’ve ever had in my life at Miss Polly’s Soul Food Cafe. OMG. Heaven on earth, with a waffle on the side.

My favorite attraction, without a doubt, was Mud Island. What a cool park. I could have spent all day there. There is a replica of the Mississippi River that is amazing. I really wish we had more time to spend there, I was fascinated. Most people know Mud Island from the movie, The Firm… he rode of the red monorails. We didnt. LOL.

The most interesting part of the trip was Graceland. It was not at all what I expected. And it was BIZARRE. People still send flowers? To a man (they don’t know personally) that’s been dead for over 30 years? I can’t wrap my brain around it at all. I did like the part of the tour where the awards and gold records are on display – that was cool. But the rest of it left me scratching my head… which will undoubtedly disappoint my friends who are super-fans of Elvis.

Now we’re home, and I have no more trips to plan … which makes me very sad. I need to have a vacation to look forward to!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. You are making fun of me, aren’t you? You wrote this for me and Sue and Jordan, right?

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 2 months ago


Leave a Reply

